top of page
  • Writer's pictureMicah Harbison

National Dog Day...

Updated: Aug 29, 2018


So a few days ago was National Dog Day...Obviously its a day when we are to celebrate that special Pooch in our lives that is officially our "best friend". So I saw people post all kinds of shout-outs and creative photos with their furry friends. I decided to take my Black Lab gus on a special walk the other day. He is approaching 10 years old and loves to be outside. In order to honor my special friend I had no time limit and wanted him to just be able to get out and see the world!



My Loyal friend and Duck Getter...
Gustav "Gus" Harbison

So to set this up... Brandi, Dannie Rae and I have been staying at Noccalula Falls campground for quite a few days (or weeks, not gonna lie) so she would be closer to her job and to help take care of her Grammy that has a brain tumor. (Please Pray for Grammy and our family)

I grabbed our dog leash and Gus and I headed out on a nice walk down the Black Creek Trail up on Noccalula Mountain. We took a few detours down some pig trails to look out over some rock ledges. I liked those but Gus wouldn't get close to the edge. He's afraid of heights.

All of a sudden I looked down in the middle of the gravel trail and saw something STRANGE... It looked like where someone had spilled a ziplock bag of grapes all over the ground (See Pic Below). I figured that someone must have packed a picnic lunch and dropped all of their grapes. Bless their hearts right? So Sad. As I investigated closer, they weren't grapes they were Muscadines. That's even a sadder day when one spills their muscadines on the ground. Then ALL OF A SUDDEN, I felt the spirit of God say LOOK UP!

There they were... WILD Muscadines growing way up in a tree overhead. You know, Just when we think life stinks, it feels like our source of strength is gone, God says LOOK UP... LOOK UP!

Sometimes in life our next blessings are within sight but just out of reach. Id we will just be patient and SEE whats right in front of us God will give us a sweet blessing!

The Cool Part is, I followed the vine to other trees and finally found some that I could reach (see pic below). I took them back to the camper and washed and cooled them in the fridge so later I had a sweet/sour snack of fresh wild muscadines straight from God. The BEST part is that God gave more than a sweet treat that day. HE reminded me that if I would just SLOW down for a minute, STOP and look at the disasters around me and in front of me and LOOK UP TO HIM that he would give me what I need. BTW have you seen the health benefits of Muscadines? Google It! They are incredible!

I was reminded of a verse that I memorized my first semester of College at the Baptist College of Florida. John 15:5- "Yes, I am the vine; you are the branches. Those who remain in me, and I in them, will produce much fruit. For apart from me you can do nothing..." Later in that chapter Jesus says, "8 When you produce much fruit, you are my true disciples. This brings great glory to my Father... 16...I appointed you to go and produce lasting fruit, so that the Father will give you whatever you ask for, using my name."

REAL TALK... You see, I have been feeling lately that my life isn't producing much fruit for the Kingdom of GOD. Our family is in a weird transition time in our lives and in Ministry. We are completly walking on faith for God to meet our needs and use us.

God straight up told me, SLOW DOWN- LOOK TO ME- STAY CONNECTED. He is the one that produces spiritual fruit in our lives. A branch is nothing but dead firewood apart from the vine. Just as we are useless if we are not connected to the Vine of Christ Jesus! He gives us what we need to live and be prosperous and fruitful.

So how do we get and Stay connected?

1. Pray- Tell God your desires, frustrations, worries, fears. Be Honest

2. Read God's Word (Start with 1 verse a day- I recommend the Book of James first- It's So Practical)

3.Worship with God's People (plug into a community of believers at a church or small group-so vital)

4. Love Others- Do Something for someone else- serve someone- help someone in need or down on their luck- Be the hands and feet of Jesus. We are NEVER more like Christ then when we are serving others. Our Ministry Synergy World Outreach Inc. Has Camps and Missions Trips that you can partner with us on. We would love to serve with you and your family!


May God Bless you today as you seek HIM! He has PERFECT plans for you! No matter what you are going through or what you've been through!

From Our Team at Synergy World Outreach, God Bless!


28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page